Directrice du volume

Contributeurs

Molly Warnock  est une critique d'art et historienne de l'art basée à Baltimore. Auteure de Simon Hantaï and the Reserves of Painting (Pennsylvania State University Press, 2020) et de Penser la peinture : Simon Hantaï (Gallimard, 2012), elle a rédigé un essai sur la peinture de Martin Barré des années 1972-1977 pour le catalogue de la rétrospective du peintre au Centre Georges Pompidou. D'autres articles ont paru dans Artforum, Art in America, Les Cahiers du Musée National d'Art Moderne, Tate Papers, Journal of Contemporary Painting, et sur nonsite.org, ainsi que dans de nombreux catalogues d'expositions présentées en Europe et aux États-Unis. Durant la saison 2020-2021, elle est chercheuse associée (Ailsa Mellon Bruce Visiting Fellow) au Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts, Washington.

Max Estenger est né en 1963 à Los Angeles (Californie). Il vit et travaille à Brooklyn. Au cours des trois dernières décennies, Estenger a mis en œuvre de nouvelles possibilités pour l'abstraction. Au moyen d'un rigoureux langage formel agissant comme une force motrice, ses objets peints entrent en conversation avec l'histoire de l'art et les divers paramètres – formels, matériels, idéologiques – de la peinture abstraite. Ses plus récentes expositions personnelles ont eu lieu à Norte Maar à Brooklyn (2017), et au Museum of Contemporary Art de Tucson, en Arizona (2016), où fut présentée une rétrospective de mi-carrière Ces deux expositions ont donné lieu à des catalogues richement illustrés. Ses œuvres ont été reproduites dans le New York Times, Artforum et FlashArt, entre autres publications

Julia Fish est née en 1950 dans l'Oregon. Elle vit et travaille à Chicago. Globalement et théoriquement, son travail est à la fois site generated et context specific. Il s'inscrit dans des projets temporaires durant lesquels elle produit à un rythme soutenu des tableaux et des œuvres sur papier à partir d'une observation attentive de son domicile et de son atelier, situés dans un ancien magasin en brique à deux niveaux daté de 1922. Reconnue et exposée internationalement, y compris à la Biennale du Whitney en 2010, l'œuvre de Fish fait partie, entre autres, des collections de l'Art Institute de Chicago, du Museum of Contemporary Art de Los Angeles et du Museum of Modern Art de New York. Un choix de ses œuvres de la dernière décennie a fait l'objet d'une exposition au DePaul Art Museum de Chicago (2019-2020). Fish est professeur émérite à l'université de l'Illinois, Chicago.

Joe Fyfe est peintre et critique d'art à New York, où il est né en 1952. Dans son œuvre non figurative, Fyfe donne aux matériaux la possibilité de prendre forme et de s'assembler à leur gré plutôt que de se conformer à une vision préconçue. Il prend part en 1980 au Times Square Show organisé par le collectif d'artistes Collaborative Projects, Inc., et multiplie les expositions personnelles aux États-Unis, à travers l'Europe et au Viêt Nam. Également écrivain et curateur, il a reçu de nombreuses bourses et récompenses : Artadia Award, fondation Guggenheim, fondation Adolph and Esther Gottlieb, fondation Pollock-Krasner, Gwendolyn Knight Lawrence Award de l'American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Laura Lisbon est une peintre basée à Columbus (Ohio). S'attachant à repenser les limites de la peinture, elle réalise des tableaux et des constructions qu'elle nomme des set-ups. Parmi ses expositions récentes figurent Le Paradoxe du diaphane et du mur, organisée à Amilly, en France (2010), et Gray Matters, organisée au Wexner Center for the Arts (2017). Lisbon a également contribué à la troisième et à la quatrième éditions du projet de peinture collaborative Impermanent Durations: On Painting and Time (2017, 2019). Elle a co-organisé et co-écrit le catalogue de l'exposition As Painting: Division and Displacement, présentée au Wexner Center en 2001. Ses essais ont été publiés dans La Part de l'Œil, Les Cahiers de l'Agart, et Journal of Contemporary Painting.

Tariku Shiferaw est né en 1983 à Addis Abeba, en Éthiopie. Élevé à Los Angeles, il vit et travaille actuellement à New York. Son travail est axé sur le marquage, à travers lequel il interroge les espaces physiques et métaphysiques de la peinture, ainsi que les structures sociales. Ses œuvres sont présentes dans les expositions Men of Change, qui parcourt actuellement le pays avec la Smithsonian Institution (2019-2022), et Unbound, au Zuckerman Museum of Art (2020). Il a participé à la Biennale du Whitney en 2017, dans le cadre d'une action menée par le collectif Occupy Museums, ainsi qu'aux expositions A Poet*hical Wager, au Museum of Contemporary Art de Cleveland (2017), et What's Love Got to Do With It ? au Drawing Center (2019). Des expositions personnelles de son œuvre ont été présentées, entre autres, à Londres et à New York.

Cheyney Thompson est né à Baton Rouge (Louisiane) en 1975. Sa pratique alimente une réflexion centrée sur la production, la distribution et l'exposition de la peinture. Inscrite dans des projets qui s'étalent souvent sur plusieurs années, la réalisation de ses œuvres fait appel à des structures et à des contraintes. Ces limitations donnent lieu en retour à d'exhaustives et fructueuses investigations du médium pictural et des problématiques qui l'entourent. Reliant ses tableaux à des formules mathématiques et économiques, à son propre travail d'artiste, et à l'architecture dans laquelle ils prennent place, Thompson met en tension leurs qualités formelles et les systèmes de circulation qui les accueillent. Il est représenté par la Andrew Kreps Gallery, la Campoli Presti Gallery et la galerie Buchholz.

Editor

Molly Warnock  is an art critic and art historian based in Baltimore. The author of Simon Hantaï and the Reserves of Painting (Pennsylvania State University Press, 2020) and Penser la Peinture: Simon Hantaï (Gallimard, 2012), she contributed an essay on Martin Barré’s painting in the years 1972-77 to the catalogue for the painter’s retrospective at the Centre Georges Pompidou. Additional writings have appeared in Artforum, Art in America, Les Cahiers du Musée National d’Art Moderne, Tate Papers, Journal of Contemporary Painting, and on nonsite.org, as well as in numerous European and United States exhibition catalogues. She is a 2020-21 Ailsa Mellon Bruce Visiting Senior Fellow at the Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts, Washington.

Contributors

Max Estenger was born in 1963 in Los Angeles, California, and lives and works in Brooklyn. For the past three decades, Estenger has been developing new possibilities for abstraction. Utilizing a rigorous formal language as the driving force, his painted objects are involved in conversation with art history and the various parameters of abstract painting – formal, material, and ideological. His most recent one-person exhibitions were at Norte Maar in Brooklyn (2017) and a mid-career survey at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Tucson, Arizona (2016). Both exhibitions featured fully illustrated catalogues. His work has appeared in the New York Times, Artforum, and FlashArt, among other publications.

Julia Fish (b. Oregon, 1950) lives and works in Chicago. Inclusively and theoretically, her work is both site-generated and context-specific: in temporary projects, and in the sustained sequence of paintings and works on paper developed through close examination of her home and studio, a 1922 brick two-flat storefront. Fish’s work is internationally recognized and exhibited, including 2010, the Whitney Biennial, and is held in the collections of the Art Institute of Chicago, Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art and the Museum of Modern Art, New York, among others.  A selected survey of her work from the current decade was presented at DePaul Art Museum, Chicago, 2019-2020.  Fish is professor emerita, University of Illinois at Chicago.

Joe Fyfe is a painter and art critic based in New York where he was born in 1952. Fyfe’s nonrepresentational works allow materials to dictate form and come together on their own, rather than adhere to a preconceived vision. In 1980, he was included in the Times Square Show, organized by Collaborative Projects, Inc., and he has had numerous solo exhibitions in the United States, throughout Europe, and in Vietnam. Equally active as a writer and a curator, he received numerous awards and fellowships, including an Artadia Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, an Adolph and Esther Gottlieb Award, a Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant, and The American Academy of Arts and Letters’ Gwendolyn Knight Lawrence Award.

Laura Lisbon is a painter based in Columbus, Ohio. Engaged in rethinking the limits of painting, she makes paintings as well as constructions that she terms “set-ups.” Recent exhibitions include Le paradoxe du diaphane et du mur in Amilly, France (2010) and Gray Matters at the Wexner Center for the Arts (2017). Lisbon also participated in the third and fourth iterations of the collaborative painting project, Impermanent Durations: On Painting and Time (2017, 2019).  She co-curated and co-wrote the catalogue for the exhibition As Painting: Division and Displacement, held at the Wexner Center in 2001. Lisbon has published essays in La Part de L’Œil, Cahiers de l’Agart, and Journal of Contemporary Painting.

Tariku Shiferaw was born in 1983 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. Raised in Los Angeles, he presently lives and works in New York City. He explores mark-making in order to address the physical and metaphysical spaces of painting and social structures. Shiferaw’s recent exhibitions include Men of Change, a nationally traveling exhibition with the Smithsonian Institution (2019-2022), and Unbound, at the Zuckerman Museum of Art (2020). Other group shows include the 2017 Whitney Biennial, as part of Occupy Museums; A Poet*hical Wager, at the Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland (2017); and What’s Love Got to Do With It?, at The Drawing Center (2019); he has had solo exhibitions in London and New York, among other cities.

Cheyney Thompson was born in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, in 1975. His practice centers on an inquiry into the production, distribution, and exhibition of painting. His projects, which often span several years, impose structures and constraints onto the making of his work. These limitations are in turn generative, resulting in exhaustive investigations into the medium of painting and the problems that surround it. Tying his works to mathematical and economic formulas, his own labor as an artist, and the architecture that his paintings occupy, Thompson enacts a tension between their formal qualities and the larger systems of circulation they inhabit. He is represented by Andrew Kreps Gallery, CampoliPresti and Galerie Buchholz.  

© ER Publishing, 2020

website design by Tristan Schalit